§ 8-36. Commission seats.  

Latest version.
  • (a) Allocation of commission seats. In accordance with Section 3.01 of the City Charter, there shall be five (5) seats on the city commission. Commission seats shall be allocated as follows:

    Seat 1 At-Large
    Seat 2 Commission District 19
    Seat 3 Commission District 122
    Seat 4 Commission District 27
    Seat 5 Commission District 28


    (b) Election to commission seats. Candidates for the office of city commission member shall qualify for and be elected to a specific commission seat. District commission members shall be qualified electors of and reside within the district or area for which the seat is allocated. District commission members shall be nominated by qualified electors residing within their district or area. Candidates for the at-large seat shall be qualified electors and residents of the city and shall be nominated by qualified electors residing in any district of the city. Nominations shall comply with the requirements of section 8-43 of this chapter. Candidates for all commission seats shall be elected by the voters of the city at large.

(Ord. No. 2003-15, § 1, 6-3-03; Ord. No. 2012-05, § 3, 3-20-12; Ord. No. 2013-01, § 1, 2-5-13)