§ 2-702. Board of directors. [Repealed]  

Effective on Tuesday, February 7, 2017
  • (a) A board of directors shall allocate informant rewards in excess of five hundred dollars ($500.00) that are distributed through the AWARE program.

    (b) The board of directors shall consist of seven (7) members.

    (1) One (1) member shall be a city commissioner and shall be appointed annually by the city commission at the first meeting in October.

    (2) One (1) member shall be the chief of police or his designee.

    (3) One (1) member shall be the city manager or his designee.

    (4) Four (4) members shall be citizens at-large and shall be appointed by the city commission to serve a three (3) year term. At-large members shall reside within the city limits, own property located within the city limits or have a current business tax receipt issued by the city.

    (c) The members of the board of directors shall adopt rules to conduct its meetings and business and shall elect a chairman to serve a one (1) year term.

    (d) Meetings of the board of directors shall be called by the chairman as necessary. Four (4) members in attendance shall constitute a quorum.

    (e) Members of the AWARE board of directors are subject to section 2-26 of the Lake Wales Code of Ordinances which regulates city boards and committees, the Florida Sunshine Law, the Public Records Law, financial disclosure requirements, and all other laws which govern members of public agencies.

    (f) Members of the AWARE board of directors who are serving on the effective date of ordinance 98-17 (Oct. 20, 1998) shall continue to serve the terms to which they were appointed until expiration of said terms.

(Ord. No. 97-03, § 1, 5-6-97; Ord. No. 98-17, § 2, 10-20-98; Ord. No. 2006-47, § 3, 12-5-06; Ord. No. 2017-02, § 10, 02-07-2017)